Sunday, April 20, 2014

Song Of The Week: 4/20/14

Song: "Replace You" (acoustic version)

Artist: Silverstein

Album: "Rescue" (Deluxe Edition)

Year: 2011

"Replace You" is a song that appears to be about a relationship that has totally soured. Though the love between the two is undeniable, so much so that you sense they are soulmates, it's the constant years of mistakes made over and over again that seems to be overtaking what love for each other is left. Sometimes the hardest thing to do (breaking up) is the only option in order to move forward from feeling guilty, hurt and unhappy. The acoustic version of "Replace You" was originally released on Silverstein's 2010 "Transitions" EP. This acoustic version as well as a full band version of the song can be found on the Deluxe version of their 2011 album, "Rescue". Silverstein formed as a band back in 2000, hailing from Ontario, Canada. In 2000, they self-released an EP called "Summer's Stellar Gaze". After some line-up changes, the band independently released another EP entitled "When The Shadows Beam" in 2002. It was after this EP that the band signed with Victory Records. 2003 saw the band released their very first full length album, "When Broken Is Easily Fixed". This album featured six songs from their independent EP's that were re-recorded as well as some new material. In 2005, Silverstein appeared to have a more energetic and punky sound with their release of "Discovering The Waterfront". The band started to play some major tours after this album alongside bands such as Aiden, Hawthorne Heights, Bayside and Simple Plan. In 2006 the band released the compilation album "18 Candles: The Early Years". This album featured the band's first two EP's as well as some b-sides, re-recorded songs, acoustic tracks and remixed versions of songs. The band also played on it's very first Warped Tour that year. 2007 saw the release of "Arrivals & Departures". The band toured for nearly a year and a half in support of this album including the band's first stops in Australia and South America. In 2009, Silverstein released "A Shipwreck In The Sand". This album was a concept album about betrayal. In 2010, Silverstein filmed and recorded a couple of shows they played in Toronto for a live cd/dvd release. This release would be called "Decade (Live At The El Mocambo)". After this release, the band officially left Victory Records. In 2011, Silverstein signed with Hopeless Records. Their first release with their new label was the EP "Transitions". This EP featured two new songs that were going to be on their upcoming album as well as three b-sides. That upcoming album would turn out to be 2011's "Rescue". Vocalist Shane Told said that this album would feature tons of screaming and musical breakdowns. In 2012, the band released the EP "Short Songs". This album featured songs that basically were no longer than one minute long. The album also featured Silverstein doing some cover songs, most notably a Green Day song and a NOFX song. 2013 saw the band release their sixth full length album entitled "This Is How The Wind Shifts". In support of this album, Silverstein decided to play the entire Warped Tour. In almost 13 years as a band, Silverstein has released six full length albums, one compilation album, one live album and five EP's. They have also toured relentlessly during that time. They have been labeled everything from post-hardcore to emo to punk to screamo. Whatever, they have stood the test of time and have distinguished themselves as a band that is at the front of the pack, not following behind it like so many similar sounding bands. Currently, they are in full support of their new album "This Is How The Wind Shifts" and if they are true to form, they will probably release a new album in 2015, as they have basically put out a new album every two years.

No comments:

Post a Comment