Sunday, November 10, 2013

Song Of The Week: 11/10/13

Song: "Until The Judgement Day"

Artist: Hawthorne Heights

Album: "Fragile Future"

Year: 2008

"Until The Judgement Day", to me, appears to be about giving the defeated or the broken something to hold on to. It's giving those who feel like life has been cruel and unfair a glimmer of hope. It seems the vocalist is trying to galvanize this group and show them that there is light at the end of the tunnel. Hawthorne Heights formed as a band back in 2001, hailing from Dayton, Ohio. They were originally known as A Day In The Life and from 2001 to 2004, they released "Four Bullets For One Girl", which was a demo, "Nine Reasons To Say Goodbye" and an EP titled "Paper Chromatography: The Fade From Dark To Light". It was after this EP that the band decided to change their name to Hawthorne Heights. In 2004, the band signed with Victory Records and released their first album under their new moniker called "The Silence In Black And White". This album featured the singles "Ohio Is For Lovers" and "Niki FM", which helped the album to peak at #56 on the Billboard charts. In 2006, the band released their follow up album, "If Only You Were Lonely". This album debuted at #3 on the Billboard charts, backed by the hit single "Saying Sorry". In 2007, tragedy befell the band as rhythm guitarist Casey Calvert was found dead on the band's tour bus on November 24th. He is said to have died of a toxic mixture of prescription drugs. Through the band's mourning came the song "Four Become One", which would be featured on their "Fragile Future" album. The band and their record label were going through some issues but in 2008, they resolved them in order to release "Fragile Future". The first single from this album would be "Rescue Me". The band also released the EP, "Rhapsody Originals", which featured acoustic renditions of songs from "Fragile Future" as well as one song from "If Only You Were Lonely". Linkin Park invited Hawthorne Heights to be part of their Projekt Revolution tour that year as well. In 2010, Hawthorne Heights signed with Wind Up Records and released their fourth album "Skeletons". This album featured a return to unclean vocals which were provided by lead guitarist Micah Carli. Before Calvert passed away, he used to provide the unclean vocals to J.T. Woodruff's clean vocals. The first single off of "Skeletons" was "Nervous Breakdown". Victory Records also released a best of compilation in 2010 entitled "Midwesterners: The Hits". Of course, that album featured songs from Hawthorne Heights' Victory years. 2011 saw the band leave Wind Up Records and create their own label, Cardboard Empire. The band planned to release a trilogy of EP's under their new label. "Hate" would be released in 2011 and "Hope" would be put out in 2012. A third EP, however, was never released, at least not as of yet. In 2013, the band signed with Red River Entertainment and released their fifth full length studio album called "Zero". The band would support the album by playing every date on the 2013 Vans Warped Tour. Hawthorne Heights musical style has been called many things, emo, pop punk, screamo, etc. They're known for incorporating clean and unclean vocals on their songs. They belong to a genre that has many copy cats but Hawthorne Heights is a band that clearly stands out from the rest. They've also remained very active since officially becoming Hawthorne Heights, releasing five full length albums in a span of nine years. Currently, as I said, the band is fully supporting their latest effort, "Zero".

No comments:

Post a Comment