Sunday, May 28, 2017

Song Of The Week: 5/28/17

Song: "Brandenburg Gate"

Artist: Anti-Flag

Album: "American Spring"

Year: 2015

Place Of Origin: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Years Active: 1988 - present


According to Anti-Flag band member Chris #2, he wrote "Brandenburg Gate" about the breakup of the most important relationship of his life. When he went to bring the song to the rest of the band, he was nervous because it was so personal to him that the rest of the band might not totally get it. Being a political band, drummer Pat Thetic saw the song as almost a love song for socialism. Certain socialistic views like universal health care and universal education seem so hard to attain in the States, but Pat said that if you look at the Brandenburg Gate in Berlin, Germany, it used to stand for segregation and conflict where now, it's a symbol of freedom and togetherness. It's a song of hope to him where for Chris #2, it may be more about despair.

ANTI-FLAG DISCOGRAPHY (Full length albums only):

1996 - Die For The Government (New Red Archives)
1998 - Their System Doesn't Work For You (A-F Records)
1999 - A New Kind Of Army (Go-Kart Records)
2001 - Underground Network (Fat Wreck Chords)
2002 - Mobilize (A-F Records)
2003 - The Terror State (Fat Wreck Chords)
2006 - For Blood And Empire (RCA Records)
2008 - The Bright Lights Of American (RCA Records)
2009 - The People Or The Gun (SideOneDummy Records)
2012 - The General Strike (SideOneDummy Records)
2015 - American Spring (Spinefarm Records)
2015 - Cease Fires (A-F Records)
2016 - Live Acoustic at 11th Street Records (Spinefarm Recrods)
2017 - Live Vol. 1 (A-F Records)


Anti-Flag formed as a band back in 1988 by members Justin Sane and Pat Thetic. Early on, the band didn't look like it was going to sustain and actually broke up but in 1992, they reformed and set about their journey to leave their stamp on the punk rock world. In 1996, they released their debut full length album, "Die For The Government". By 1999, the band's line-up that we see to this day was set, featuring Justin Sane (guitar/vocals), Chris #2 (bass/vocals), Chris Head (guitar) and Pat Thetic (drums). In 2001, the band hooked up with legendary punk label Fat Wreck Chords for two releases, 2001's "Underground Network" and 2003's "The Terror State". The latter album really began crossing Anti-Flag over as it is their highest charting album in the United States. This led to the band signing with major label RCA Records for their next two releases, 2006's "For Blood And Empire" and 2008's "The Bright Lights Of America". Even after leaving RCA, Anti-Flag would coninue putting out stellar album after stellar album. 2009's "The People Or The Gun" and 2012's "The General Strike" through SideOneDummy Records. And of course, the band's most recent full length studio album of all original material, 2015's "American Spring". Anti-Flag is a very active band, releasing material pretty much every one to two years, whether that's full lengths, EP's, splits or live albums. They are also on tour constantly. This year, they are planning to release "Live Vol. 2", they have confirmed a spot as a headliner on the Warped Tour and according to Justin Sane, they may even release a brand new studio album before the end of the year. Anti-Flag plays a brand of punk rock that is rooted in political and social issues. They wear their views very much on their sleeves and are not afraid to take a stance against something that they perceive as unjust. Their contemporaries in punk rock are bands such as Strike Anywhere, The Unseen, Rise Against, Propagandhi and Pennywise to name a few. So if that politically charged punk rock is what you seek, look no further than Anti-Flag. This band is definitely a leader in that movement, not a follower. Anti-Flag is the real deal.


1. This Is The End (For You My Friend)
2. The Press Corpse
3. Turncoat
4. The Bright Lights Of America
5. Die For The Government
6. Brandenburg Gate
7. Underground Network
8. Broken Bones
9. We Are The One
10. Fabled World

No comments:

Post a Comment